Module 14

What lessons have you learned from writing—from an individual piece of writing or an entire course?

I have learned a lot from writing in this class. I learned how to, overall, be more professional. I learned about rhetorical choices, and I learned how to become more confident as a writer.

From what you have learned, what can you apply to the work you will do for other classes?

In my other classes, I will be able to write more professionally, use proper grammar more efficiently, and feel all around better about my work.

What about your writing do you feel most confident about—and why?

I feel most confident when I write about material I am into, whether it is about a subject that interests me, a story I like, or an interesting article. I feel that the more I like it, the better my work will be and the more qualified I will be to write about it.

What about your writing do you think needs additional work, and what plans do you have for improving?

I think that there are certain parts of my writing that need additional work. Some of these things are the ability to use stronger words that do not go over everybody’s head, and just all around I need to feel confident in all my writings.

What confusions did you have while writing, and what did you do to resolve them?

Some confusions I had while writing mostly came in my draft, but after every time I wrote I had checked over it for grammatical and spelling errors, as well as seeing if it made sense. If it did not make sense I would talk to somebody about it and get input from them to improve my work.

What major questions do you still have?

In what other ways could I improve my work, and how could I become a better writer in general? Are there any small tactics I could apply to my writing that I have not already learned?

How has writing helped you clarify your thinking, extend your knowledge, or deepen your understanding?

It helped me realize that when I write I could go over things twice, so I could improve my writing before even submitting it or letting anybody see it. Writing calms me and is soothing, so it is like a second language to me.

Identify a favorite passage in your writing, and then try to articulate what you like about it. Can you apply what you learn from this analysis to other pieces of writing?

I enjoyed “The New Sovereignty” by Shelby Steele. It was an interesting article and writing about it made me think deeper about it. I have been able to apply this tactic of thinking deeper on subjects through writing in my other classes.

How would you describe your development as a writer?

I would describe myself as a learner still, but I have improved very much since I entered college. I believe I am on my way to becoming a professional author.

What goals do you have for yourself as a writer?

I want to become an author of fiction work, and be able to tell stories through words.

Leave a comment