Applying reading to my blog. (part two.)

Reading for Political Science.

1. I have read various pieces of information that correspond to Government and Political Science. This reading prepares me for tests.

2. While reading this information for this class, I sit on my couch watching youtube videos and taking breaks periodically to play video games. This helps keep my nerves calm and keeps me focused, as well as let’s me know I understand what I had just read. I know I understand it because my mind goes to my video games then I see what all I remember. It works well for me.

3. To get started, I turn the overhead light on, make sure I have bottles of water, and make sure I have either music or a youtube video running in the background. I also put items that make me feel comfortable close to me, like action figures, comics, or books.

4. When I go to read for Political Science, I get bored. Like, really bored. It is one of those required classes that you have to take for some odd reason. I love to write, and my Anthropology class is fun. However, Political Science makes me feel as if I am being dragged through a field of rusty old nails. It is literally painful on the mind. So I have to take more short breaks then usual to stay focused, and spend more time on this class. 

5. As I read, strategies I use are usually to have something else going on as I read. I take many short breaks, then get back to it. During these breaks I may be reading a book, writing stories that are in my head, playing video games, or something else. I think this helps me because if I keep reading for too long, or keep writing or keep doing anything I am not 100% into, I will get bored pretty fast and start skipping over stuff to get done. With many short breaks, I can get finished rather fast, and work on it for a longer, more spread out period of time.

6. When I stop, I usually do something to take my mind off of the work. Like playing a video game. Or watching a youtube video. Or reading my book. Doing this will make me get pumped again, and I can usually jump right back into the work quite easily. All I do to get back to work is… get back to work.

7. It usually takes me a few hours to complete my reading. It does not surprise me, as I set a limit for myself each day.

8. The result of my reading for Political Science confirms my expectations when I go in: it is boring as heck. I try to get into it but I just can’t. I fin politics very boring, controversial or not. Luckily, there are a couple of things that interest me in Politics. However, I highly doubt we are going to go over any of that stuff. 

9. In some cases, I answered the exact same because what I do is the exact same for both. In this class, I find everything boring so I must put more effort and push myself to read. In my anthropology class, I find it very interesting! I still need to limit myself so that I do not try to skip ahead, however.

10. I was not really surprised about my reading process. It is like I planned out, despite what I find boring or interesting.

 

Leave a comment